[email protected]



Heart Chakra

Heart Centred Healing

The Heart Chakra is a powerful centre of transformation. A delicate bridge that connects our internal energy of our lower chakras (Root, Sacral & Solar Plexus), with the expansive energy of the upper chakras (Throat, Third Eye & Crown) that connect us to the world around us.

In order for the Heart Chakra to be open & healthy, it needs a solid foundation to sit upon. Therefore, when looking to heal our Heart Chakra, it’s so important to also nurture the lower chakras (starting at the root). Our Heart Chakra begins to expand as we begin to feel better about ourselves internally. Like a rose, you must water and take care of the seed in order for it to turn into the flower and bloom.

The Heart Chakra represents our ability to be love and feel love. We must first learn to fully love ourselves before we can truly open ourselves up to receive joy. When our own cup is full, we have enough to share with others and feel worthy of receiving love. Healing the Heart Chakra is the key to unlocking inner peace. A portal that connects us deeper with ourselves and with others.

With an unbalanced Heart Chakra, we may feel: lonely, broken, unlovable, empty, constant sadness, heartache, unable to let go of the past, jealousy, judgemental of others, closed off, fear of rejection, and strongly depend on the acceptance of others in order to feel whole. We may struggle to develop healthy relationships, feel all consumed by grief, in competition with others, and like something great is missing within us.

Heart Chakra Awakening

When disappointment and pain strike in life, we may be tempted to close ourselves off and protect ourselves. However, these deep pains and triggers are often the biggest catalyst for personal growth. An opportunity to learn and grow. Spiritual Awakenings can happen spontaneously for some, however, they often occur after a great loss that causes great internal chaos. This pain cracks open our heart; we have the opportunity to either open up and explore the root cause of those feelings or, close down our Heart Chakra in an attempt to avoid the pain.

Activating the Heart Chakra asks us to rise above our inner critic and meet that voice with loving compassion. To treat others the way we would like to be treated. To give the same amount of love to ourselves that we would freely give to another or, wish to receive from another. The key to unlocking the energy of the Heart Chakra is balance, acceptance / forgiveness & learning the language of unconditional love for self & others.

Let Love In

The frequency of love is the frequency of healing. It unites us with our heart and helps to dissolve mental, emotional, spiritual and physical pain. When we feel, acknowledge & release our pain, it makes room for joy and harmony to enter our hearts. When we shut ourselves down and hold in the pain, it consumes us and we begin to wilt away.

When our Heart Chakra is open, we begin to feel bliss. Like a large weight lifting from our shoulders and finally being able to take a deep breath. We start to feel more connected to ourselves; our wants, needs and dreams. Like a magnet, we start to attract healthier relationships, connections and opportunities towards us.

This post is an excerpt from the *FREE* Sacred Chakra Guidebook! (available for download here)


Sanskrit Name: Anahata

Location: Center of Chest

Energy Drain: Grief

Color: Green (Healing) / Pink (Love + Self Love)

Element: Air

Develops: 4 years – 7 years

Body: Lungs

Function: To Love / Self Acceptance

Healing Crystal: Rose Quartz

Healing Frequency: 639 Hz

Daily Healing Practices for Balancing:

  • Work on forgiveness (self / others)
  • Work on self-love to manifest romantic love
  • Heart / chest opening stretches
  • Inner child work
  • Journaling
  • Volunteering for a cause you care about
  • Talking with a Therapist / attending couples therapy
  • Posture correction / keeping shoulders pushed back
  • Strengthening shoulder and chest muscles
  • Releasing emotional weight
  • Reflecting on past relationship dynamics and patters
  • Reflecting on current relationship dynamics and patterns
  • Taking yourself on a date / practicing self-love
  • Create a list of all the qualities your dream partner has
  • Visualizing your life with your dream partner / family / friend group
  • Meditation / Reiki / Breathwork

Heart Chakra Affirmations:

The relationships in my life feel equal and balanced.

I prioritize showing myself love every single day.

I fill my own cup so my love can continuously pour out to those around me.

I release any ties to past heartbreaks and losses with love.

I welcome in fresh energy and healing.

I give and receive love equally.

I am love. I am lovable.

I treat others with kindness and respond from my heart.

I respect the boundaries of myself and others.

I put down and release any emotional weight that I am carrying.

I am at peace with my past and the present.

I am whole and complete.

I feel all the love that surrounds me.

I am magnetizing my dream partner towards me.

Recommended Articles